Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Masters in Science / Postgraduate Diploma in Gerontological Nursing

Key Facts

Course Code: : DPTNM-GTNU-1P09

Duration: 2 years part-time

Next Intake: September annually

Closing date for applications: 30 June

Location: 24 D'Olier Street

Fees: Further information on course fees can be found at Academic Registry.


Students will be provided with an advanced grounding in methods of research, in addition to developing the theoretical and practical aspects of management, clinical practice and education in Gerontological Nursing. Students will be required to undertake specialist clinical placements as a staff nurse in the Department of Medicine for Older Persons, St James’s Hospital, or another approved clinical location.

Structure & Delivery

Year One

Commences with a full week in September and thereafter one day per week for the remainder of the academic year.

Year Two

Attendance at workshops throughout the academic year

A blended learning approach is utilised in the delivery of theoretical content which includes lectures, group discussions and self-directed learning. The assessment process is a combination of written and practical assignments. This course includes clinical and practice based learning and assessment and students may be required to attend additional sessions at associated service provider sites as well as at the student’s practice base during year one of the course.

Course Content

Year One

and a choice between one of the two following modules:

Year Two

Entry Requirement

The criteria for admission are that the candidate must

  • Currently registered on the appropriate division of the live register held by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland
  • For the duration of the course all applicants are required to be working in an area where Gerontological nursing care is delivered and clinical site has to be approved
  • A minimum of one year’s full time clinical nursing practice or equivalent recent clinical nursing practice since first registration
  • Hold an honours degree in nursing (or equivalent) or otherwise satisfy the course committee that they have the ability to complete and benefit from the course

Documentation required to complete application

  • 1 academic and 1 professional reference from the employer or work practice area. Each reference should confirm the potential and suitability of the applicant to undertake the course
  • Copies of academic transcripts from completed educational courses
  • Copies of official awards (parchment) from completed educational courses
  • A letter of support from your Director of Nursing

Flexibility in Progression from P.Grad.Cert. and P.Grad.Dip. to M.Sc.

Students who wish to undertake the P.Grad.Certificate consisting of three specialist modules, each of 10 ECTS credits, totalling 30 ECTS credits, should apply directly for the Postgraduate Certificate in Specialist: Gerontological Nursing PCNMGTNU-1SP. Students who successfully complete the Postgraduate Certificate may opt to be awarded a Postgraduate Certificate (P.Grad.Cert) or may progress further on the Postgraduate Diploma (P.Grad.Dip.) and Master (M.Sc.) programme.

Otherwise, students who wish to apply for the M.Sc. or P.Grad.Dip programme apply directly for the M.Sc. in Gerontological Nursing. Upon successful completion of six modules, each of 10 ECTS credits, totalling 60 ECTS credits, students may opt to be awarded a Postgraduate Diploma (P.Grad.Dip.) or may progress further on the Master (M.Sc.) programme.

Students who are eligible for the award of Postgraduate Diploma may progress to undertake a M.Sc. within five years of first entering the Certificate or Diploma.


All applicants to the School of Nursing and Midwifery whose first language is not English or who have not been educated through the medium of English must present one of the following qualifications in the English language:

  • IELTS: Grade 6.5 overall with a minimum of grade of 6.5 in each category
  • TOEFL: 88 internet-based, 570 paper-based, 230 computer-based. The test taken here should be TOEFL IBT
  • University of Cambridge: 
    Proficiency Certificate, Grade C or better (CEFR Level C1 or C2) 
    Advanced Certificate, Grade C or better (CEFR Level C1 or C2)
  • Pearson Test of English (Academic) - PTE Academic: a minimum score of 63 to be eligible (with no section score below 59)
  • An award certificate with a minimum II.1 overall score from Trinity's Centre for English Language Learning and Teaching's Pre-sessional Pathway Programme

Please note that test scores are only valid for two years.

For further details on these English Language Proficiency Tests, please contact the appropriate organisation directly.