Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search

M.Sc. / P.Grad. Dip. / P.Grad. Cert. in Specialist Nursing

Key Facts

Course Code: DPTNM-SNUR-1SNU

Duration: 2 years part-time

Next Intake: September annually

Closing date for applications: 30th June

Location: 24 D'Olier Street, Dublin 2

Fees: Further information on course fees can be found at Academic Registry.

Tuition Fees per Annum: EU Non-EU
Year One Tuition €7,100 €14,750
Additional Fees


Year Two Tuition €5,190 €10,078
Additional Fees €128 €128


The aim of these courses is to facilitate registered nurses currently practising in specialist areas to develop further their knowledge and skills, enabling the delivery of evidence-based specialist nursing care as members of the multidisciplinary team and to contribute to the attainment of excellence in health care. The course consists of six modules: three specialist, one clinical practicum and two core modules in the areas of research and management.
Students must pass all modules in order to achieve the Postgraduate award and progress to the second year of the MSc programme during which they complete a dissertation. Students may opt to exit at the end of year one and be awarded a Postgraduate Diploma. If all elements of the course have been passed the student has the option to return to undertake year two within four years. The specialist courses are taught in partnership between the School of Nursing and Midwifery and the associated Health Service Providers. The specialist strands offered are listed above

Structure & Delivery

Year One: commences with a full week in September and thereafter one day per week for the remainder of the academic year.
Year Two: attendance at workshops throughout the academic year. The course is offered on a two year part-time basis.

This course includes clinical and practice based teaching, learning and assessment and students may be required to attend additional sessions at associated service provider sites as well as at the student’s practice base during year one of the course.

Clinical Placements and Student Support
Each student will be engaged in specific practice settings in Ireland relevant to each individual strand for the duration of the course of study. They will receive a planned clinical placement timetable for the duration of the course. During the course, educational and clinical facilitators will offer personal and professional support to each student.

Course Assessments
Each module will be assessed by the successful completion of an academic assignment. The assessment of clinical competence will focus on the acquisition of specialist competencies and the clinical assessments will be carried out throughout the clinical placements / completion of a competence based portfolio.

Entry Requirement

The criteria for admission are that the candidate must

  • Current registration on the appropriate nursing division of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland Active Register
  • A minimum of two years post-registration clinical experience since first registration
  • A minimum of one year experience in the specialty at the time of application.
  • Candidates must also hold an honours degree in nursing or a related discipline or equivalent professional and academic qualification or satisfy the selection committee that they have the academic ability to successfully complete the programme.
  • Additional criteria may be required by individual Health Service Providers.
  • Each student will be engaged in specific practice settings relevant to the specialist area for the duration of the programme of study.

Documentation required to complete application

  • 1 Academic reference
  • 1 Clinical reference
  • Copies of academic transcripts from completed educational courses
  • Copies of official awards (parchment) from completed educational courses
  • A letter of support from your Director of Nursing

Flexibility in Progression from P.Grad.Cert. and P.Grad.Dip. to M.Sc.

Upon successful completion of three specialist modules, each of 10 ECTS credits, totalling 30 ECTS credits, students may opt to be awarded a Postgraduate Certificate (P.Grad.Cert) or may progress further on the Postgraduate Diploma (P.Grad.Dip.) and Master (M.Sc.) programme.

Upon successful completion of six modules, each of 10 ECTS credits, totalling 60 ECTS credits, students may opt to be awarded a Postgraduate Diploma (P.Grad.Dip.) or may progress further on the Master (M.Sc.) programme.

Students who are eligible for the award of Postgraduate Diploma may progress to undertake a M.Sc. within five years of first entering the programme.


All applicants whose first language is not English and who have not been educated through the medium of English must present one of the following qualifications in the English language:

Minimum Level Required
IELTS Grade 6.5
TOEFL 230 computer-based 570 paper-based 88 internet-based
Cambridge Certificate of Advanced English Grade C
Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English Grade C
Pearson Test of English PTE Academic: a minimum score of 63 (with no section score below 59)

Please note that test scores are only valid for two years.

For further details on these English Language Proficiency Tests, please contact the appropriate organisation directly.